Rally to Stop Fracking in NY at the State of the State Address

Posted by & filed under .

Date/Time
Date(s) - 01/09/2013
7:00 am - 7:00 pm

Category(ies) No Categories

The New Yorkers Against Fracking coalition is calling on all New Yorkers to come to Albany for a rally to keep fracking out of our beloved state. We will take our message right to the Governor as we gather outside the annual State of the State Address, delivered by Andrew Cuomo.

SIGN UP FOR BUSES HERE:

  • Sign up for the bus from NYC (Pick up in New Paltz) : http://bit.ly/UbIRhH
  • Sign up for the bus from Binghamton: http://bit.ly/12HDNYS
  • Sign up for bus from Ithaca, Caroline and Whitney Point: https://www.wepay.com/donations/bus-to-albany
  • Sign up for the bus from Syracuse: http://bit.ly/12JK4Dx
  • Sign up for the bus from Rochester: http://bit.ly/TFfPMz
  • Sign up for the bus from Buffalo: http://bit.ly/W4Bj03

What: Rally to Stop Fracking in NY at the State of the State Address
When: Wednesday, January 9th, 2013
Time: 11AM – 3PM
Where: Empire State Plaza – Concourse hallway near the entrance to The Egg, Albany, NY

FOR MORE INFO IN THE FOLLOWING REGIONS CONTACT:

Capital District
Daniel Morrissey at daniel@nyagainstfracking.org

Hudson Valley
Forest Cotten at forest@nyagainstfracking.org or
Kathy Nolan at kathy@catskillmountainkeeper.org

Westchester
Betta Broad at betta@frackaction.com

New York City
David Braun at david@nyagainstfracking.org, Corinne Rosen at crosen@fwwatch.org

Long Island
Eric Weltman at eweltman@fwwatch.org

Southern Tier
Isaac Silberman-Gorn at i.silbermangorn@gmail.com

Central New York- Syracuse
Jessica Azulay at Jessica@allianceforagreeneconomy.org and/or Ursula Rozum at Ursula@peacecouncil.net

Finger Lakes- Ithaca
Sara Hess at sarahess63@yahoo.com

Rochester
Zora Gussow at zora@nyagainstfracking.org

Buffalo
Rita Yelda at ryelda@fwwatch.org

For all other questions on the State of the State action please contact Renee Vogelsang at renee@frackaction.com

We’ve never needed your voices more than now. On November 28th, the Department of Environmental Conservation took the reckless step of releasing draft rules and regulations that would sanction the process of fracking in New York State, thus setting the clock ticking on a decision-making process that, absent our intervention, could lead to permits in early 2013.

Never mind that the environmental impact statement (sGEIS) that is supposed to serve as a scientific foundation of those regulations has not been released to the public. Never mind that the unfinished health “review” that is supposed to sit at the heart of the sGEIS is shrouded in secrecy. Never mind that the work of the health study is being carried out by three outside experts who are contracted for a mere 25 hours–three days–of their time. Never mind that Governor Cuomo said NO to New York’s own physicians and scientists who have demanded a transparent, comprehensive health impact assessment.

Let’s tell the Governor that everything about this process is wrong: it is backward, undemocratic, hasty, and irrational.

A secret, 25-hour health review? Shockingly inadequate. An industry-influenced sGEIS? Fatally flawed. And cart-before-the-horse rulemaking? Un-fracking-believable.

At last year’s state of the state address, hundreds of us came to Albany in the first week of the new year and spoke out for an unfractured future for New York. This year, let’s pack the halls of power once again to let the Governor know that New Yorkers from every corner and region of the state are against fracking and against the sneaky process that is bringing it to our doorsteps. The New Yorkers Against Fracking coalition, its member organizations and friends of the coalition are organizing carpools, vans and buses to Albany.

For more info on New Yorkers Against Fracking go to http://www.nyagainstfracking.org/

Facebook Event
: https://www.facebook.com/events/243510039113031/permalink/252223031575065/

Comments are closed.